Backup and Restore

Once you have a running hot-backup feature enabled enterprise cluster, you can easily create a backup for your cluster and restore it. In order to make a restore, first you should have a backup to choose where to restore from.

If the hot-backup feature is enabled, your cluster will create a backup automatically within 24 hours period.
You can keep at most 10 backups. The oldest backup will be deleted automatically after the 10th backup.

Create, List, and Delete Backups

To do this, first, you need to click on the Manage Cluster button located at the top right of the cluster details page and select Backup And Restore from the dropdown menu:

Backup and Restore settings for a cluster

Once you select Backup and Restore, the following dialog appears.

Create a new backup snapshot

You can easily list the backups and create a new one with the current data on your cluster. Once you click Create a Snapshot, It will start to snapshot creation process and then you will see your new backup with the date of the backup created and status.

The time of creating a backup can vary according to the size of your cluster and the data. You need to wait until the backup status is Ready before using it for restore.

View available backup snapshots

Also, you can easily delete your backup by clicking the Delete button.

Restore from Backup

Once you have at least one backup, you can easily restore It to the new cluster by clicking the Restore button of the backup you selected. Then, you need to follow nearly the same process as you followed while creating your cluster like setting name, cidr, etc. in order to create a new cluster with the backup.

Restore a cluster from a backup snapshot

You can not select all specifications like Instance Type, Instance Per Zone, and some other features other than you see in the form while creating a cluster from a backup.

Once you click the Restore Data to New Cluster button, It will create a new cluster with the data your backup has.

A new cluster being created from a backup snapshot

You shouldn’t delete your other cluster your restoring backups belong to until the new cluster be in a Running state.